APREN Award 2016

The second edition of the APREN Award aimed to promote, in conjunction with the renewable electricity sector, academic dissertations that have been produced by Portuguese universities, in order to contribute to the dissemination and transfer of knowledge and technology between research centres and companies. 


Through this initiative - with the sponsorship of EDP Gestão da Produção de Energia SA and EDP Renováveis - APREN aims to create a means of communication to disseminate, in a dynamic and continuous form, research development to stakeholders in this sector, creating an interactive network that promotes innovation and value creation. 


The APREN Award 2016 included an exhibition of the works, in a poster format, which took place in parallel with the APREN Annual Conference, held on November 16, 2016.


Bernardo Silva won the PhD thesis prize with his dissertation "Multi-terminal HVDC Grids: Control Strategies for Ancillary Services Provision in Interconnected Transmission Systems with Offshore Wind Farms".


Pedro Beires won the master thesis prize with his dissertation "The Role of  Reversible Water Power Plants in the face of increasing volumes of integration of renewable production in isolated electrical systems."


Gustavo Oliveira (FEUP), Pedro Nunes (FCUL), António Coelho (FEUP) and Sílvia Coelho (UA) received honorable mentions.

Other Editions