APREN Award 2020

APREN promoted yet another edition of its APREN Award, an initiative that aims to promote academic theses completed in Portuguese universities and related to renewable electricity. 


The winners for this year's edition, sponsored by Voltalia, are already known:




  • First Prize: : João Megre Barbosa (“Fast Assessment of Dynamic Behavior Analysis with Evaluation of Minimum Synchronous Inertia to Improve Dynamic Security in Islanded Power Systems"
  • Second Prize: Rui do Couto (“Improving Solar Power Forecasting Through Advanced Feature Engineering")
  • Honourable Mentions:
    • José Cardoso (“Análise da Fase de Transporte de uma Fundação Inovadora para uma Turbina Eólica Offshore")
    • Miguel Silva (“Technical and Economic Solutions for Grid-Connected Utility-Scale Solar Photovoltaic Power Plants")




  • First Prize: Mário Alberto Vieira (“Viability of Structural Health Monitoring Systems on the Support Structures of Offshore Wind")
  • Second Prize: José Iria (“Optimal participation of na aggregator of prosumers in the electricity markets")
  • Honourable Mentions: 
    • Raquel Figueiredo (“Renewable and resilient power systems under future climate variability")
    • Rita Hogan Almeida (“Large power hybrid PV pumping for irrigation")

Other Editions